Not about everything

January 16, 2009

Small annoyances on the internet

Filed under: internet — takaita @ 17:26
Tags: , ,

Here’s my list of small annoyances on the internet.

  • Visit counter on 360.yahoo.com.
    I have a yahoo 360 page.  Sometimes that shows a visitors count. Sometimes not. So sometimes I keep on clicking on my account pages just to see the visit count. There are actually two versions of the visit count: one that shows only the overall visit count and one that also shows the visits for the current week and the current month.
  • Reddit auto-downmods of submissions.
    Reddit.com sometimes is interesting, sometimes a bit boring. But interesting enough for me to occasionally take a look at it. I tried submitting a number of pages, but found out that they almost always were voted down instantly to zero points. Only recently, after two years and something like 20 submitted urls, I actually got a karma above 1.
  • Everywhere this Google login.
    Google is everywhere. I do use some Google services, search mainly. But also occasionally gmail, blogspot, analytics, picasa. Maybe some more. But wheneever I log in to one of them, I am logged in to all of them. I am even logged in to Google search. I do not want to be logged in to Google search. Mind your own business Google!
  • Impossible captchas.
    I understand the point of captchas. But it happens more and more often that I am not able to decipher it. Usually I need a few tries before ‘breaking’ the code. I read that I’m not alone in that.
  • The obviousness of my mediocracy.
    Of course I always knew that there was someone better than me for each of my qualities. But with the internet, it becomes so painfully clear.
  • Stolen content in blogs.
    People who embed a video from YouTube,  a photo from flickr or a text, created by somebody else and presenting it as their own in their blog. Usually with no reference to the source and with no or very little explanation. People doing this and getting away with it.
1 Comment »

  1. There’s not much you can do about Google’s arrangements, but there are some Google search “anonymizers”.
    Scroogle.org, which I use all the time, is run by Daniel Brandt, a notorious Google critic.

    Comment by metasonix — April 5, 2009 @ 20:29 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

