Not about everything

October 7, 2008

Goodbye to the machine

Filed under: history — takaita @ 18:32
Tags: , , ,

After I write my previous message, I got a bit into nostalgia. It is always hard for me to throw things away. Sometimes things can no longer pile up, something has to happen. So earlier this year I had to say goodbye to an old PC. I had assembled it myself in 1996. It had functioned for a couple of years before I got a newer one. Occasionally I used the old one for some things, but its use reduced in time. Last year I assembled a third one, faster, bigger, better – and the use for #1 was lost. It did not run anything newer then Windows 95, it was hopelessly slow. I did try Linux on it, but that did not turn it into a racing monster. In short: I had to get rid of it, because it was only taking up valuable space in my house.

As I said, it’s hard to say goodbye to things that have served me well. For memory’s sake, I took some last photos.

Award BIOS
Award BIOS

Soundblaster 16
Soundblaster 16

Motherboard with mainly ISA slots
Motherboard / ISA / PCI

1 Comment »

  1. Ah yes, nostalgia…
    I still have my IBM laptop with Windows 3.1… I earned my living with that machine for a couple of years. And now it’s just gathering dust, in spite of the fact that it still works perfectly, albeit slowly.
    Perhaps I should take your example, do a photoshoot and… pfff. I’m not sure I’m actually capable of dropping it in the trash can šŸ™‚

    Comment by J. — October 7, 2008 @ 20:00 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

