Not about everything

September 20, 2007

“Oh, he’s photographing grass” she said

Filed under: nature,nature photography,photography — takaita @ 13:12
Tags: , ,
Brown Hawker (Aeshna grandis)
Brown Hawker
(Aeshna grandis)
Migrant Hawker (Aesna mixta)
Migrant Hawker
(Aeshna mixta)

There I was. Seriously trying to make photos of dragonflies. There were lots of them. Mainly Hawkers (Aeshna) and Meadowhawks (Sympetrum). I was especially interested in the Brown Hawker (Aeshna grandis), the species that I find so hard to photograph. At this spot I counted at least six of them. While walking around, sometimes one of them would fly up from its hiding place unexpectedly. Each time that happened I told myself again that I should look better and try to see them before they escaped from my camera.

There were also many individuals of the Migrant Hawker (Aeshna mixta) . In Dutch this species is called Paardenbijter, which translates to Horse Biter. You can fantasize why it got that name. I don’t know it for certain.

Anyway. I thought that it might be easier to get close to the Brown Hawker if I would follow a flying one until it sat down and then carefully approach that spot. So I did. I had followed one with my eyes and saw it disappear in the vegetation. With my eyes fixed on that spot I carefully stepped closer. At that point a bunch of females and girls came riding by on horses. I am not sure what the fun of riding horses is, but it has to do something with something that girls like. There were about 20 horses stepping slowly in a long row and the girls seemed happy sitting on top of them.

The girls wondered what a lonely man was doing walking around in the grass. One of them must have seen my camera. “Oh, he’s photographing grass” she said so loud that I could hear it. Problem solved. Lonely man classified as weird but harmless. And on they went.

At that time I thought it best to say nothing. Only later I realized I should have told her that there were many Horse Biters around.

(Both photos were taken at the afternoon this happened. I still need a better photo of the Brown Hawker)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

